Tea House Trek ¦ Nepal

 

∗Important Note: This list, more than the others, will be heavily dependent on the time of year that you go, and to which region. We hiked to Annapurna Base Camp, during Mid November. We didn’t employ porters.∗

 Clothing:

  • Thermals: My pants I purchased in Pokhara and I also brought a long-sleeve light-weight thermal that dried quickly, so I could wash it after using it.

  • Shorts: Mine are the North Face kind, I would wear them over my Thermals while hiking if I needed to.

  • Yoga Pants: To wear after hiking, and I would normally sleep in them.

  • Long-sleeve Cotton Shirt: Also for evenings, I would keep it in a separate stuff sack with my yoga pants to keep them clean-ish and smelling better-ish.

  • Two Singlets: Basic H&M kind, one for hiking and one for evenings/sleeping.

  • One Fleece Jumper: I wouldn’t normally hike in this, so it remained clean-ish for evenings.

  • Rain/ Wind Jacket: At higher altitudes, I would normally hike in this with my breathable layer underneath.

  • Insulated Jacket: Purchased in Pokhara for 20USD, it was enough to keep me warm in the evenings. I also slept in it at the Base Camp. I would never wear it hiking, as it was too warm, and as the one time I did, it remained damp throughout the day!

  • Travel Towel: The quick dry kind is preferred but where there is no wind or warmth, we would strap it to the outside of our bag while hiking the following day.

I really didn’t pack a lot of clothes for the trek as to keep the weight down. I had my “hiking outfit” and my “evening/sleeping” outfit.

Technical:

  • Hiking Boots: I brought my Lowa Focus GTX QC WS boots. Buy them at home, and break them in. No buying boots in Nepal!

  • Flip-flops/Sandals: Used for showers, and after a day’s walking.

  • Sleeping Bag: Nothing special, purchased originally for normal camping. Outerlimits Compact 150. Mine is rated for +5ºc as I tend to get pretty hot when I sleep.
  • Sleeping Bag Liner: Used only in the Annapurna Base Camp, but it was cold enough that on this occasion I also used the doona provided. I would also use the liner on beds when it was too warm for the sleeping bag and I wanted to be just that little bit cleaner.
  • Bag: I used my Eagle Creek 55L Truist. but I didn’t bring the “lid” portion. It was compatible with my Source Bladder but I wished that there was more padding on the shoulders. After walking for 6 hours, it become a little uncomfortable but nothing unbearable.

  • Water Purification Tablets: We bought ours in Pokhara, but we only really used them once. We could buy boiled water inside the sanctuary, and donkeys carry filtered water everywhere on the trek outside of the sanctuary (ei: Poon Hill). I also didn’t really like the taste they gave the water. We saw an older couple (celebrating her 65th!) using the UV light but they only had smaller bottles (about a liter in size). I don’t think the UV light is a practical choice for large amounts of water.

  • 3L hydration pack. Life saver. Drink water as much as you need without having to constantly stop and take off your pack! I would always refill it every night.

  • Camera. And extra batteries. I also brought a Varta rechargeable external battery to use. All combined, I had enough juice for the entire trek. You have to pay to use any electricity in the mountains as most of it is solar energy and needed for the village.

Randoms but still wouldn’t go without:

  • First Aid Kit, Journal, Mobile & Headphones (zone out time!), Sunscreen (we used SPF 30- don’t forget your neck!).

Leave a Reply

