Day Hike ¦ Switzerland

 

  • Sturdy Shoes: I have two pairs of shoes I use; one are “trail-running” shoes- I will use them for trails that are well-worn, I’m familiar with and I know will only be a few hours. My hiking boots I have are not ones that I strap on for a 2 hour hike. Their sturdy and supportive, but in 25c heat slightly toasty. Specifically I use my “trail-running” shoes for this hike. My hiking boots are perfect for anything over 5 hours as they stomp anything thrown at them (including the Nepalese Himalayas!). Obviously, choose socks wisely. They shouldn’t rub or move, add cushioning, and, if it helps, the top of the sock should be higher than the top of the boot.
  • Shorts: I almost always hike in shorts. I love the ones I got from North Face, as they are light, and dry very quick if rained on!
  • T-shirt: Something cotton usually. Whatevers clean.
  • Walking Stick: The most under-rated tool I had a relationship with. I was always embarrassed to be seen with one, and thought they were just for old people, but after my Inca Trek I developed a new respect for them. It becomes almost a third leg, and is amazing whilst climbing down really uneven surfaces. Mine is the collapsible kind- nothing fancy – but I strap it to the outside of my bag if I ever need it!
  • In My Day Bag:
    • Map: I like to have a paper copy with me as there is always a chance I could truly get lost in the woods and my phone battery die.
    • First Aid Kit: I don’t carry anything too crazy, but if a bush rips my leg open, or a twist an ankle, its nice to have some bandages and wraps. Obviously helps if you know basic first aid as well! Not necessarily for yourself either – there is always the chance you need to help a fellow hiker.
    • Sunscreen: I always use SPF 50 on my face. That part of Australia has always stuck. If its hot, SPF 30 is usually all I use on the rest of my body (don’t forget ears and neck!) In this category is also sunnies and a hat. Be Sunsmart folks! (even on the cloudy days at altitude can be harse to your skin…)
    • Camera. Phone. Wallet. All full of juice. Although the wallet has been stuck in a life-long draught.
    • Hoodie/ Rain Jacket: This is something I have gotten in the habit of *always* having in my hiking bag. The weather changes radically and quickly in the mountains. It’s important to stay warm when you stop for a break/lunch too!
    • Sweatpants: If I know the weather could possibly be anything except sunny, I always chuck in a pair of Yoga pants- I can throw them on quickly over my shorts and they are easy to walk in. Although you may not feel the cold whilst your walking. When you stop you’ll be thankful you had an extra layer!
    • Food & Water: I *always* fill my 3L bladder for any hike, no matter how small. Bladders are the easiest way to quench thirst without the hassle of taking out a water bottle every stop. For day hikes, I will always take what I will eat for lunch, plus a little more. Even in Switzerland, when there is restaurants at the top of almost every mountain, I like having a few granola bars to snack on. I also like to bring a small bottle of juice or Rivella, as its nice to have something other than water with my lunch. Just a personal choice. Having so much food and water may fill heavy in the beginning, but when you stop and reward yourself with a full belly– you’ll thank yourself!

Author: Monika

Trying to make the most of being the "Lonely Planet" generation!

Leave a Reply

